Administration of education

From January 1848 to December 1866 the government school system was controlled by the Board of National Education, from January 1867 to April 1880 by the Council of Education, and from May 1880 by the Department of Education. The Board of National Education consisted of between three and six government-appointed members who elected their own Chairman. The Council of Education consisted of five appointed members who elected a President. The Department of Education (School Education from 13 December 1989 and Education and Training from 3 December 1997) was under the control of a Minister responsible to Parliament.
See the left hand menu below for links to the names of Ministers and Heads of departments with their periods of office.