Number of government schools

Number of government schools

From 1848 to 1959 the figures below are for schools open at the end of each year or during part of the year, the exception being 1866 where the figures represent only schools open at the end of the year; from 1960 the figures include only those schools open on the day of the annual census. Evening Public Schools, Evening Continuation Schools, Nursery Schools, Sport and Recreation Centres and Environmental Education Centres are not included in this table. Schools in the Australian Capital Territory are included until 1973 at which date they numbered 58.

The figures for Public Schools also include such schools as Superior Public, District, District Rural, Junior Technical, Home Science, Central and other schools which enrolled both primary and post-primary pupils.  The Correspondence Schools (later Distance Education Centres) are also included, while the School of the Air is included from 1976 when it acquired its own enrolments.

The figures for Half-Time Schools represent individual schools, and for this reason they do not agree with the published figures for 1867 to 1869 when Half-Time Schools were counted in pairs or groups. No figures are available for individual teaching "stations" in House to House Schools, so the figures for these schools represent the number of groups of teaching stations; from 1908 House to House Schools include the small number of Travelling Schools, also counted as groups of teaching stations.

The figures for special schools include Hospital Schools, schools for intellectually, physically or emotionally disabled children and Community Care Schools.  These figures are usually different from those published annually by the Department of Education and Training because of variations over time in the definition of special schools and the control of Community Care Schools.

Number of government schools 1848-2010 [.pdf 158 KB]